NEH banner
[Return to Query]

Prizes for The Qassim Haddad Translation Project

The Qassim Haddad Translation Project
John Verlenden, American University in Cairo

Grant details:

Prizes for Chronicles of Majnun Layla & Selected Poems by Qassim Haddad (Book)

Third prize winner of Qatar’s Sheikh Hamad Award for Translation and International Understanding [link]
Date: 12/1/2015 12:00:00 AM
Organization: Sheik Hamad Awards for Translation and International Understanding [link]
Abstract: The Sheikh Hamad Award for Translation and International Understanding was founded in Doha, Qatar (2015) to award $1000 to the winner. It is an international prize run by an independent board of trustees, impartial panels of judges, and a professional steering committee. The purpose is to inculcate a culture of knowledge and dialogue, develop international understanding, and promote mature intellectual interaction and exchange between Arabic and other world languages through the medium of translation. The prize rewards merit and excellence, encourages creativity, honors translators and acknowledges their role in strengthening the bonds of friendship and cooperation amongst peoples and nations of the world, spreading the values of diversity, pluralism and openness, and upholding the highest moral and ethical standards. Nominations are limited to the fields of the humanities and social sciences in 2015.

Translation Award [link]
Date: 9/1/2013 12:00:00 AM
Organization: King Fahd Center for Middle East and Islamic Studies [link]
Abstract: The King Fahd Center awards an annual prize up to $10,000 for the best book-length translation of Arabic literature from any of the following genres: poetry, novel, short story collection, drama, or literary non-fiction such as autobiography or memoir. Submitted translations must be previously unpublished in book form. All translation rights must be cleared for publication. For this award the original author (if still holding rights to the work) will receive, in lieu of royalties, $5,000 and the translator (or translators) will receive a total of $5,000. Independent judges select the award winning translation, which will be published by Syracuse University Press as part of its prestigious Middle East Literature in Translation series.