NEH banner
[Return to Query]

Prizes for Music of the United States of America (MUSA)

Music of the United States of America (MUSA)
Andrew Kuster, American Musicological Society, Inc.

Grant details:

Prizes for Music of the United States of America, Volume 31: Aaron Copland: Appalachian Spring (Original Ballet Version) (Book)

Claude V. Palisca Award [link]
Date: 11/12/2021 12:00:00 AM
Organization: American Musicological Society [link]
Abstract: The Claude V. Palisca Award honors each year a scholarly edition or translation in the field of musicology published during the previous year in any language and in any country by a scholar who is a member of the AMS or a citizen or permanent resident of Canada or the United States, deemed by a committee of scholars to best exemplify the highest qualities of originality, interpretation, logic and clarity of thought, and communication. “Previous year” refers to the copyright year as found on the copyright page of the book. Three categories of musicological works are eligible for the Palisca award: translations into English of musicologically significant texts; editions of music; or editions of musicologically significant texts.