NEH banner
[Return to Query]

Prizes for Performing Nineteenth-Century Italian Opera

Performing Nineteenth-Century Italian Opera
Philip Gossett, University of Chicago

Grant details:

Prizes for Divas and Scholars: Performing Italian Opera (Book)

Otto Kinkeldey Award [link]
Date: 1/1/2007 12:00:00 AM
Organization: American Musicological Society [link]
Abstract: This award was inaugurated in 1967 to recognize the most distinguished book in musicology published during the previous year. It is named after Otto Kinkeldey, Honorary President of the Society until his death in 1966. He held the first chair in musicology at a university in the United States at Cornell University between 1930 and 1946, was a charter member of the American Musicological Society, and served as its President in 1935–36 and 1941–42.

Deems Taylor/ Virgil Thomson Award [link]
Date: 1/1/2007 12:00:00 AM
Organization: The American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers (ASCAP) [link]
Abstract: The ASCAP Foundation Deems Taylor/Virgil Thomson Awards program recognizes books, articles, broadcasts and websites on the subject of music selected for their excellence. The Awards were established in 1967 to honor the memory of composer, critic and commentator Deems Taylor, who died in 1966 after a distinguished career that included six years as President of ASCAP. The Awards have been renamed in 2014 to also honor the memory of Virgil Thomson (1896 – 1989), one of the leading American composers and critics of the 20th Century, and a former member of the ASCAP board of directors.