Research Programs: Fellowships for University Teachers

Period of Performance

9/1/1984 - 8/31/1985

Funding Totals

$18,500.00 (approved)
$18,500.00 (awarded)

A Study of the Diary of Martha Moore Ballard

FAIN: FA-24418-84

Laurel T. Ulrich
President and Fellows of Harvard College (Durham, NH 03824-2620)

Preparation for publication of a work on the life and times of an 18th-century midwife and healer in frontier New England.

Associated Products

A Midwife's Tale: The Life of Martha Ballard, Based on Her Diary, 1785-1812 (Book)
Title: A Midwife's Tale: The Life of Martha Ballard, Based on Her Diary, 1785-1812
Author: Laurel T. Ulrich
Abstract: Drawing on the diaries of a midwife and healer in eighteenth-century Maine, this intimate history illuminates the medical practices, household economies, religious rivalries, and mores of the New England frontier.
Year: 1990
Primary URL:
Primary URL Description: WorldCat listing
Access Model: Book
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf
Type: Single author monograph
ISBN: 9780394568447


Pulitzer Prize, History
Date: 1/1/1991
Organization: The Pulitzer Prizes
Abstract: A prize honoring excellence in journalism and the arts since 1917.

Bancroft Prize
Date: 1/1/1991
Organization: Columbia University
Abstract: The Bancroft Prizes are awarded annually by Columbia University in the City of New York. Under the terms of the will of the late Fredric Bancroft, provision is made for two annual prizes of equal rank to be awarded to the authors of distinguished works in either or both of the following categories: American History (including biography) and Diplomacy.

John H. Dunning Prize
Date: 12/31/1990
Organization: American Historical Association
Abstract: The John H. Dunning Prize was created in 1927 by a bequest from Miss Mathilda M. Dunning, stipulating that a prize in American history be established in the name of her father. This biennial prize was first awarded in 1929, and has been awarded in odd-numbered years since 1991. The prize is offered for the best book on any subject pertaining to the history of the United States.

Joan Kelly Memorial Prize
Date: 12/31/1990
Organization: American Historical Association
Abstract: Named in memory of Joan Kelly, this prize is awarded annually for the book in women's history and/or feminist theory that best reflects the high intellectual and scholarly ideals exemplified by the life and work of Joan Kelly (1928–82). The prize was established by the Coordinating Committee on Women in the Historical Profession and the Conference Group on Women's History in 1983, to be administered by the American Historical Association and carries a cash award of $1,000. Submissions can deal with any chronological period, any geographical location, or any area of feminist theory that incorporates a historical perspective. Books should demonstrate originality of research, creativity of insight, graceful stylistic presentation, skillful use of analysis, and a recognition of the important role of sex and gender in the historical process. The interrelationship between women and the historical process should be addressed.

Berkshire Conference of Women Historians Book Prize
Date: 1/1/1991
Organization: Berkshire Conference of Women Historians
Abstract: This prize is given to a first book that deals substantially with the history of women, gender, and/or sexuality

SHEAR Book Prize
Date: 12/31/1990
Organization: Society for Historians of the Early Republic
Abstract: The SHEAR book prize is awarded to an original monograph that deals with the period 1776-1861 in America. The book must make its primary scholarly contribution to the history of the early American republic. Within that period, the book may treat virtually any aspect of history, including political, economic, social, or cultural history. In addition, the book must be an original monograph or a collection of original essays, but not a primary source.

William H. Welch Medal
Date: 1/1/1995
Organization: American Association for the History of Medicine
Abstract: The William H. Welch Medal is awarded to one or more authors of a book (excluding edited volumes) of outstanding scholarly merit in the field of medical history published during the five calendar years preceding the award. The award is named in honor of a major American figure in the history of medicine and public health, who was also one of the first faculty members at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine.

James P. Hanlan Book Award
Date: 1/1/1991
Organization: New England Historical Association
Abstract: The Award has been presented annually since 1985 to an author who has lived or worked in New England at some time during the prior two years, for a nonfiction book on any historical topic.